Make your own free website on



Caldecott This award was established in 1938 and is presented annually to the illustrator of the most distinguished American picture book for children published in the United States in the preceding year.
Coretta Scott King Established in 1969.  The medal was designed to commemorate the life and work of the late Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination in continuing to work for peace and world brotherhood.  This award is presented annually to an African American author and an illustrator for an outstanding inspirational and educational contribution published during the previous year.
Hugo This award was named in honor of Hugo Gernsback, "The Father of Magazine Science Fiction" as described in a special award given to him in 1960.  Given annually by the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS),  the winner is determined by nominations from and a popular vote of the membership of WSFS.  The award given that year is for work that appeared in the previous calendar year.
National Book 
National Book for Young People's Literature Presented each year in November to recognize the outstanding contribution to children's literature.  
Nebula Voted on, and presented by by active members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, Inc. Since 1965, this award has been given each year for the best novel, novella, novelette, and short story eligible for that year's award.
Newbery Established in 1922.  A medal presented annually to  the author of the most distinguished contribution to American Literature for children published in the United States in the preceding year.
Nobel Prize-Literature
Pulitzer Prize Has been awarded by Columbia University since 1917.  The awards are given on the recommendations of a board of jurors for Journalism, Letters, Music, and Drama.
Fiction Non-Fiction Poetry
Biography or Autobiography History
 Pura Belpre'  Awarded every two years by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the National Association to Promote Library Services to the Spanish Speaking (REFORMA).  Honors Latino writers and illustrators whose work best portray, affirms and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in a work of literature for youth.  Named in honor of Pura Belpre', the first Latina librarian of the New York Public Library.
Georgia Book Awards Georgia's Children's Picture Storybook Award Winners  Georgia's Children's Book Award Winners


Main | Information | Children Resources | Adult Resources | Links of InterestArchives
Guest Book  |  FormsScrapbook  |  What's New  | Problems | Site Map

2004   Terrell County Public Library
                Dawson, Georgia  31742
                Claudia Copeland, Librarian
                Romaine Richardson, Web Master
Last Updated:  July 25, 2004
All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without the express permission of Terrell County Public Library is  strictly prohibited.